To unsubscribe from this mailing list write to: PR-list-off@news.encatc.org

encarc PRESS RELEASE

N°6 // Brussels, 26 November 2015

ENCATC announces winners of the 2015 ENCATC Research Award on Cultural Policy and Cultural Management

On the evening of 25 November in Brussels, Alessia Usai from Italy and Annika Hampel from Germany were announced as the winners of the 2015 ENCATC Research Award on Cultural Policy and Cultural Management.



ENCATC, the European network on cultural policy and management, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2015 ENCATC Research Award on Cultural Policy and Cultural Management:

Annika Hampel, from the University of Hildesheim in Germany, for her PhD thesis on "Fair Cooperation. Partnership based cooperation in Foreign Culture Policy".

Alessia Usai, from the University of Cagliari in Italy, for her PhD thesis on "The Creative City. Cultural policies and urban regeneration between conservation and development".

The award winners were revealed at the ENCATC Research Award Ceremony organised in Brussels on 25 November.

The 2015 competition was the first time two PhD researchers were awarded ex aequo: "The work of Annika Hampel because she analysed the process, the involved stakeholders and the outputs of Cultural Relations between Germany and India. Her focus on the relation between developed and development countries from an equal perspective and on the basis of reciprocity is very original and relevant. Her conclusions and recommendations contribute very concretely to the improvement of foreign cultural policy in general. The one of Alessia Usai because she uses a different and innovative perspective: her research is related to cultural heritage, landscape and urban planning. She analyses the relationships between cultural heritage and urban planning in order to identify best practices for the development of innovative cultural policies and new urban regeneration tools. From this perspective, she developed an interesting holistic model that takes into account the local cultural ecosystem and that can be relevant for local cultural policy makers," said Annick Schramme, ENCATC President, to the ceremony participants.

The Award was given by **Catherine Magnant, Deputy Head of Unit Cultural Diversity and Innovation** at the **European Commission**. Speaking of the Commission's commitment to supporting excellence in cultural policy and cultural management research, Ms. Magnant said: "*Now more than ever, the European Commission needs solid evidence and independent analysis to inform its thinking, and evaluate the*

impact of its policies. ENCATC's Research Award supports young researchers who will help us do just that. It is a most valuable investment into the quality of our joint thinking on the role of culture in driving Europe forward."

The winners were extremely honoured and appreciative of this prestigious recognition: "The ENCATC Research Award represents to me a great occasion to widely disseminate my PhD research outcomes at the global level. Moreover, it is an opportunity to prove their scientific value thanks to the rigorous selection process managed by the Award' scientific committee and jury members. In this regard, I would thank all of them for their professional and careful work and for all their suggestions as I advance in future research. I am sure the award ceremony is only the first step towards my work with ENCATC and I look forward a long and solid research collaboration with the network," said Alessia Usai.

To confirm the importance of such an initiative to promote the career of young researchers, Annika Hampel said: *"I would like to sincerely thank the award's jury for their decision and ENCATC for the beautiful award ceremony. I feel very honored and I am grateful for the ENCATC Research Award 2015. Without my Indian interview partners this research would not have been possible. Thus, I am very much looking forward to sending them and my international colleagues the English published version of my PhD thesis in the near future."*

The ENCATC Award exists to stimulate academic research in the field of cultural policy and management to explore, through comparative and cross-cultural research, contemporary issues at stake and possibly anticipate new cultural policy orientations. Moreover, it contributes to the process of creating an "infrastructure", a network of scholars who are competent in doing comparative research projects in cultural policy and management issues. "It is extremely important to listen and to anticipate the needs of the cultural sectors and thus to be able to analyse and understand them with solid research methods. This research will allow academics to update their curricula and to properly educate the future generation of cultural managers and operators. The ENCATC Award and the Book Series project are precisely answering to this important need in a very concrete way," said ENCATC Secretary General, GiannaLia Cogliandro Beyens.

Alongside the 2015 ENCATC Award winners were two shortlisted finalists: Fiona Hutchison of the United Kingdom for her PhD thesis "Socio-cultural Impacts of Museums for their Local Communities: The Case of the Royal Albert Memorial Museum, Exeter" and Ann Overbergh from Belgium for her PhD thesis "Extended cinema in Kenya and Tanzania. Technological innovation and Related Trends in Local Audiovisual Storytelling".

Note to editors:

For more information about the ENCATC Research Award on Cultural Policy and Cultural Management: <u>http://encatc.org/pages/index.php?id=373</u>

About ENCATC

ENCATC is the leading European network on cultural policy and management. It is an independent membership organisation gathering over 100 higher education institutions and cultural organisations in over 40 countries. ENCATC was founded in 1992 to represent, advocate and promote cultural management and cultural policy, professionalise the cultural sector to make it sustainable, and create a platform for discussion and exchange at the European and international level. ENCATC is co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union. <u>www.encatc.org</u>

For Award ceremony photos: http://encatc.org/pages/index.php?id=399

The ENCATC Research Award jury members are:

- Annick Schramme, Jury President, University of Antwerp / Antwerp Management School, Belgium
- Franco Bianchini, Jury Member, Leeds Beckett University, United Kingdom
- Lluís Bonet, Jury Member, University of Barcelona, Spain
- Jacques Bonniel, Jury Member, University of Lyon II, France
- Anita Kangas, Jury Member, University of Jyväskylä, Finland
- Jerry C Y Liu, National Taiwan University of Arts, Taiwan
- Richard Maloney, Boston University, United States
- Jaime Alberto Ruíz Gutiérrez, University of Los Andes, Colombia

Photo credit

Press contact:

Elizabeth Darley | Communications Manager | ENCATC | Avenue Maurice 1, 1050 Brussels, Belgium | e.darley@encatc.org | +32.2.201.29.12